district home
Academics ::
Administration ::
Athletics ::
Board of Education ::
Budget ::
Capital Project ::
District Calendar ::
Employment ::
Health Services ::
Safety ::
Summer School ::
Building Condition Survey ::
Finance ::
Student/staff relocation ::
Abigail Van Camp receives national art award

Photo of Abigail Van Camp with award-winning artworkMarcellus High School sophomore Abigail Van Camp, whose artwork won a coveted Gold Key in the regional CNY Scholastic Art Awards competition earlier this year, has been honored at the national level in the 2015 Scholastic Art & Writing Awards, the nation's longest-running and most prestigious recognition program for creative teens in grades 7–12.

More than 300,000 works of art and writing were submitted for judging at the regional level – through the more than 100 local affiliates of the nonprofit Alliance for Young Artists & Writers Alliance – in 28 categories, including poetry, painting, architecture, short story, fashion design and more. Abby was one of Marcellus Central School District’s 21 regional winners in January and one of five Gold Key-winning students to advance to the national competition.

Her mixed media piece, titled “Let Literature Fly,” was among the 1,900 works selected for national recognition. At an awards ceremony in June, she will receive one of 860 silver medals for art.

“The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards reflect the diverse landscape of today’s young creative thinkers,” said Virginia McEnerney, executive director of the Alliance for Young Artists 
& Writers. “Year after year we see more of the nation’s most talented and innovative teens emerge from different parts of the country, and it is our privilege to provide them with a platform to share and amplify their unique voices with a national audience.”

All art and writing submissions are judged based on the program’s three criteria: originality, technical skill and emergence of personal vision or voice. This year’s list of distinguished jurors included artist Andres Serrano, poet Nikki Giovanni, Warhol Museum Director Eric Shiner, artist Wangechi Mutu and comic artist Dash Shaw.

In June, national award-winning teens from across the country will gather in New York City to attend the National Celebration series of events in their honor, hosted by the Alliance. The celebratory week will kick off June 5 with the opening of the Art.Write.Now.2015 National Exhibition at the Sheila C. Johnson Design Center at The New School's Parsons School of Design and Pratt Institute’s Pratt Manhattan Gallery, featuring more than 1,000 award-winning visual and literary works.

Since the program’s founding in 1923, the Awards have fostered the creativity and talent of millions of students, including renowned alumni who have gone on to become leaders in their fields, including Andy Warhol, Truman Capote, Richard Avedon, Philip Pearlstein and Sylvia Plath. More recently, Stephen King, Richard Linklater, Zac Posen and Lena Dunham won Scholastic Art & Writing Awards when they were teens.

Our Schools
K.C. Heffernan Elementary
C.S. Driver Middle School
Marcellus Sr. High School

Communications Office
Instructional Technology
Buildings and Grounds
Food Service
High School Guidance

About Us
Marcellus Academic Club
Staff Directory
District Newsletter
School Report Card
Board of Education
Employment Opportunities
Use of Facilities

District Info
District Newsletter
District Calendar
Code of Conduct
Use of Facilities
District RTI Plan
Emergency S.A.V.E. Plan
Common Core
Mandated Information
Sex Offender Registry

Staff Links
Personnel Links
Staff E-Mail
Sub Service
Teacher Verification
IEP Direct
Professional Development

School Messenger
SchoolTool Parent Portal
Dignity Act
Code of Conduct
New student Registration
Sex Offender Registry
How to Solve Problems
Summer School